The NHL won’t only look different next year – it will also sound different.

The league, which had previously announced plans to realign, has come out with the names of its four new divisions, as it shrinks down from six.

Three of the division names will remain the same – Atlantic, Central and Pacific -- but the newest addition will be called (the oh-so-gauche) Metropolitan. Northeast, Northwest and Southwest are officially done.

The Detroit Red Wings and Columbus Blue Jackets will pack their bags and head to the Eastern Conference amidst all the changes, while the Winnipeg Jets will shift from the Eastern to the Western Conference. The top three teams in each division will make the playoffs, along with the two teams with the next best record in each conference.

The league also broke out its schedule for next season, which faces off October 1 when the Montreal Canadiens host the Toronto Maple Leafs.

In the meantime, you now have the rest of the summer to familiarize yourself with the new divisions:

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division
Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
Detroit Red Wings
Florida Panthers
Montreal Canadiens
Ottawa Senators
Tampa Bay Lightning
Toronto Maple Leafs

Metropolitan Division
New York Rangers
New York Islanders
New Jersey Devils
Washington Capitals
Pittsburgh Penguins
Philadelphia Flyers
Carolina Hurricanes
Columbus Blue Jackets

Western Conference

Central Division
Chicago Blackhawks
St. Louis Blues
Nashville Predators
Minnesota Wild
Colorado Avalanche
Dallas Stars
Winnipeg Jets

Pacific Division
Los Angeles Kings
Anaheim Ducks
Phoenix Coyotes
San Jose Sharks
Vancouver Canucks
Calgary Flames
Edmonton Oilers

More From TSM Interactive