After a record-breaking first season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel made history again Saturday night, becoming the first freshman ever to win the Heisman Trophy.

"Johnny Football" drew 474 first place votes and 2,029 total points from the panel of media members and former winners that votes for college football's most prestigious trophy. Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o finished second (1,706 points) and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein was a distant third (894).

Manziel set a Southeastern Conference record this year with 4,600 total yards and scored 43 touchdowns while leading Texas A&M to a 10-2 record--including an upset of then-#1 Alabama--in the Aggies' first season in the SEC. He is the first freshman and just the fifth player ever to throw for 3,000 yards and rush for 1,000 in the same season.

Manziel edged out Manti Te'o, who was seeking to become the first full-time defensive player to win the trophy. On Thursday, Te'o won the Maxwell Award and the Walter Camp Award, both of which are awarded to the player of the year.

But in the end, Manziel's made history of his own, becoming the first freshman to walk away with the Heisman Trophy in the 74-year history of the award. Only one other freshman (Oklahoma running back Adrian Peterson in 2004) had finished as high as second.

Manziel, a redshirt freshman, becomes just the second player in Texas A&M history to win the Heisman Trophy, joining 1957 winner John David Crow. Manziel will close this season by leading the Aggies against Oklahoma in the Cotton Bowl.

More From TSM Interactive