Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston won the 79th Heisman Trophy on Saturday night in New York City, becoming the the youngest player ever to be named the nation's most outstanding college football player.

Winston received 668 first-place votes and 2,205 total points to become the second consecutive freshman to win the Heisman. He was left off of 115 of the 900 ballots entirely. Winston was cleared of sexual assault allegations by the Florida state attorney earlier this month.

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron finished second in the balloting held by the Downtown Athletic Club, with Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch placing third and Boston College running back Andre Williams in fourth.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, who won the Heisman in 2012, finished fifth.

Winston was the favorite to win coming into the ceremony after throwing for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns and achieving the nation's highest passer efficiency rating (190.1) while leading the top-ranked Seminoles to a 13-0 record and a berth in January's BCS title game against Auburn.

Winston is the first Florida State player to win the award since quarterback Chris Weinke in 2000.

More From TSM Interactive